Climate policy in The Netherlands

This page gives an overview of the relevant national plans, objectives, devolution of competencies and the topics that each public body is responsible for.

National plans and objectives

  1. Climate law

    • In 2030, 48% reduction of CO2 compared to 1990
    • In 2050, 95% reduction of CO2 compared to 1990
  2. Climate plan

    • Contains the main measures for the period of 2021-2030 to reach the objectives of the climate law
  3. National climate adaptation strategy

    • Policy document containing the adaptation strategy for The Netherlands
  4. Energy agreement for sustainable growth

    • Over 40 organisations decided on a common ambition for sustainable growth
    • The organisations decided on specific agreements to fulfil these ambitions
  5. Delta plan spatial adaptation

    • The Delta plan consists of all projects and measures for water management and climate adaptation for 2050

Delegation of authorities

In the Netherlands, climate policy is developed nationally as well as regionally. Four central authorities decide on long term policy objectives, the coherence between these objectives and, weighs decisions on a strategic level. The coordination and the ultimate responsibility for climate (mitigation) policy are vested in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy.

Implementation of climate policy, however, is something that is most often done regionally or locally. Examples vary from the integration of renewable energy or the development of the environment. The Wet ruimtelijke ordening (Law on spatial planning) and an upcoming omgevingswet (surroundings law) decided that municipalities and provinces are responsible for spatial planning issues. When regional interests are at stake, provinces have the authority to decide on regional matters related to the environment to the detriment of the municipalities.


Central authorities